General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Old 08-26-2015, 02:51 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Engine Problems by Sympton
Print Wikipost

1996 Camry Won't Start Has loud Click

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2009, 01:46 PM
Default 1996 Camry Won't Start Has loud Click

My 1996 Camry was just running. I had the car off for about 15 min. Went back to start it and all the lights come on as normal when I turn the key but all I get a loud click. The starter does not even try to turn the car over. I've seen some folks talk about the solenoid. I'm a novice at this so I was wondering where I should start. I don't want to just go buy parts hap-hazardly trying to figure it out. Autozone has the solenoid at $80 and the starter at $148. The click is consistent every time I turn the key I sounds like it's coming from the starter. Is this a DIY job?

I've got the service manual for the car so I'm pretty confident.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks,

Old 08-07-2009, 10:43 PM

i have a 99 camry with a cracked starter motor and it ocassionaly does the same thing, but because its not completly broken works 90% of the time. try replacing startermotor.

Old 08-08-2009, 09:14 PM

Actually now the solenoid is part of the starter so now its one complete unit. they sell only the starter, no sloenoid purchase.

Its probably the solenoid contacts--usually looks like 2 flat copper bus bars. Solenoid plunger comes down on those bars to transmit power to start or make car start.

you can go to toyota dealer and ask for the starter solenoid contact points or look for on the web.
A lot of toyota oem parts dealer on net now has microfish for viewing parts diagram online.